Florida texting ban begins October 1, 2013 [Legal Monitor Worldwide]
(Legal Monitor Worldwide Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) Effective on Tuesday, October 1, 2013, the "Florida Ban on Texting While Driving Law" makes it is illegal for a driver to operate a vehicle in motion while manually keying or entering letters or numbers into a nonvoice, personal wireless device.
This means manually texting, e-mailing, or instant messaging on smart phones and other wireless devices is prohibited while driving. Retrieval, reading, and storage of such messages while operating a vehicle are also prohibited.
For purposes of the law, a vehicle that is stationary is not being operated.
Use of hands-free devices that do not require does not require text entry to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function is permitted.
Sending messages to report an emergency or crime is permitted. Drivers of authorized police,fire, or medical services vehicles are exempt from the law.
Violation of the law is a secondary, noncriminal, nonmoving violation. This means a driver would be cited for another traffic offense to be also cited for texting.
The fine for a first offense is $30. If a driver is again cited for a second or subsequent violation of the law within 5 years, is cited texting in a school zone, or is responsible for an accident while texting, the finerises to $60 and three points against the driver's license.
Multiple violations of the law may result in the suspension or revocation of a person's driver's license.
(c) 2013 Legal Monitor Worldwide. All Rights Reserved. Provided by Syndigate.info an Albawaba.com company
[ Back To Technology News's Homepage ]